skip to main content


General Questions:Top of Page

What is the difference between an intradistrict transfer and an interdistrict transfer?

An intradistrict transfer is a transfer from one East Side Union High School District school to another East Side Union High School District school.  An interdistrict transfer is a transfer between the East Side Union High School District and another district such as  San Jose Unified, Milpitas Unified, Morgan Hill Unified School District, etc.

What dictates the East Side Union High School District’s transfer process?

The intradistrict and interdistrict transfer processes are dictated by Board Policy approved by the Governing Board.  The Governing Board desires to provide enrollment options that meet the diverse needs and interests of district students, thus allowing for the intradistrict transfer process.  Board Policy also states that students residing in East Side Union High School District will attend the school to which they are assigned. Under certain circumstances, however, and when space is available, a student may be granted an interdistrict transfer to attend another school district.

What schools are in the East Side Union High School District?

There are eleven comprehensive high schools in the district:  Andrew P. Hill High School, Evergreen Valley High School, Independence High School, James Lick High School, Mt. Pleasant High School, Oak Grove High School, Piedmont Hills High School, Santa Teresa High School, Silver Creek High School, W.C. Overfelt High School, and Yerba Buena High School.  You can access a map of our schools and the boundaries HERE.  There is also one alternative high school - Calero High School - and four continuation high schools - Foothill, Apollo, Pegasus, and Phoenix - that do not have their own boundaries (see more information below).